Sin categoría

Teach: Academic Symposium at MIT

Timeline of Conferences.

8:30–8:45 am
Martin A. Schmidt, MIT Provost; Ray and Maria Stata Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

8:45–9:15 am

Martin A. Schmidt

The Future of Higher Education in the Age of Disruption
Farnam Jahanian, President; Henry L. Hillman President’s Chair at Carnegie Mellon University

9:15–10:30 am
Teaching Computing in Arts and Humanities
Moderator; Agustín Rayo, Associate Dean, MIT School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences; Professor of Philosophy

Alberto Abadie, Associate Director, MIT Institute for Data, Systems, and Society; Professor of Economics
Michael Scott Cuthbert, Associate Professor of Music at MIT
Erik Demaine, Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering at MIT

Eran Egozy, Professor of the Practice in Music Technology at MIT

Éva Tardos, Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of Computer Science at Cornell University

10:30–10:45 am

10:45–11:45 am
Teaching Ethics and Policy in Computer Science

David Autor, Ford Professor of Economics at MIT

Hal Abelson, Class of 1922 Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT

Solon Barocas, Assistant Professor of Information Science at Cornell University

David Danks, Head, Department of Philosophy; L.L. Thurstone Professor of Philosophy and Psychology at Carnegie Mellon University

Barbara Grosz, Higgins Professor of Natural Sciences at Harvard University

11:45 am –
12:45 pm

Teaching Computing in Science and Engineering
Moderator; Cynthia Barnhart, MIT Chancellor; Ford Foundation Professor of Engineering 

Stephen Boyd, Chair, Department of Electrical Engineering; Samsung Professor in the School of Engineering at Stanford University

Tony DeRose, Educational Consultant; Former Senior Scientist at Pixar Animation Studios

Alan Edelman, Professor of Applied Mathematics at MIT

Wendi Heinzelman, Dean, Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences; Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of Rochester

12:45–1:45 pm

1:45–2:15 pm
Keynote Introduction
Asu Ozdaglar

Computing Is for Everyone
Maria Klawe, President at Harvey Mudd College

2:15–3:15 pm
Experiences with CS+X Majors and Curricula
Moderator; Eran Ben-Joseph, Head, MIT Department of Urban Studies and Planning; Professor of Landscape Architecture

Carla E. Brodley, Dean, Khoury College of Computer and Information Sciences at Northeastern University

Charles Isbell, Executive Associate Dean, School of Interactive Computing at Georgia Tech

Rob A. Rutenbar, Senior Vice Chancellor for Research at University of Pittsburgh

Jeannette M. Wing, Avanessians Director of the Data Science Institute; Professor of Computer Science at Columbia University

3:15–3:30 pm

3:30–4:50 pm
Teaching Computer Science to All
Moderator; Dimitris Bertsimas, Boeing Leaders for Global Operations Professor of Management at MIT Sloan School of Management

Anant Agarwal, CEO of edX; Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT

Regina Barzilay, Delta Electronics Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT

Marie desJardins, Dean, College of Organizational, Computational, and Information Sciences; Professor of Computer Science at Simmons University

W. Eric L. Grimson, MIT Chancellor for Academic Advancement; Bernard M. Gordon Professor of Medical Engineering 

James Kurose, Assistant Director, Computer and Information Science and Engineering at the National Science Foundation

4:50–4:55 pm
Closing Remarks
Saman Amarasinghe
4:55–5:30 pm



Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Salir /  Cambiar )

Google photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google. Salir /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Salir /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Salir /  Cambiar )

Conectando a %s

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: